Science Fiction‎ > ‎

Alpha Redemption


 

From despair he fled, through tragedy he lived on, and journeyed to innocence.

His trajectory: the stars. His companion: a computer poised at the brink of sentience.

An unlikely friendship on a prototype spaceship at lightspeed towards Alpha Centauri, and redemption.


Read a Sample 



 
Buy Now
Amazon

Amazon

Kindle

Barnes & Noble


Nook

Book Depository
Free shipping worldwide
 
Smashwords
All ebook formats
 



Reviews

Alpha Redemption is a beautiful work of art, cleverly told, portraying deep spiritual themes - a perfect storm of fiction. The daring parallel structure of Alpha is wildly successful, both in terms of mere pleasure in reading, and the manner in which it drives the story forward. It is heart-wrenching, pulling with the force of a bulldozer. From start to end, my heart leapt for Baines’ main character, and, unpredictably, for his secondary character. Baines possessed the creative ability to make me feel for a computer! Move over, Hal…meet Jay. Alpha’s pacing flowed superbly, striking a nice balance between philosophy, action, and the resulting character development. The story is deeply satisfying, the characters are interesting and compelling, and the reader will pull for them...and the gospel.  
This one’s a clear winner. 
~ Marc Schooley, author of The Dark Man and König's Fire

In Alpha Redemption, a story both fascinating and unique, P.A. Baines wonderfully marries two of my favorite themes: the danger and isolation of space exploration and the idea of man’s creation giving him greater insight into his own Creator. If you like your science fiction on the introspective side—on the order of Clarke’s 2001 or Pohl’s Gateway—then this is a must read. 
~ Kerry Nietz, author of A Star Curiously Singing, 2010 Indie Book Awards Finalist in Science Fiction and Religious Fiction categories

An all nighter, can’t-put-it-down read, with a unique twist I didn't see coming and the perfect book for fans of Asimov or Clarke!  
~ Dana Bell, author of Winter Awakening

Alpha Redemption is a haunting Sci-fi tale told through the masterful prose of P. A. Baines. Astronaut Brett Denton is on a light speed journey to Alpha Centauri, but his true journey is one of tragic self discovery as he delves into his past and confronts the hidden pain there. With echoes of 2001: A Space Odyssey and The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, this is a treat for any hard Sci-fi lover and a must for every Christian who has ever doubted their faith in the one true God. 
~ Kirk Outerbridge, author of Eternity Falls and The Tenth Crusader

A book that is not simply bold and adventurous but also well-written. Bravo! 
~ Chris Walley, author of the Lamb among the Stars trilogy

An inspiring look forward to mankind’s first reach for the stars, and to AI’s first reach for something beyond its programming. 
~ Ryan Grabow, author of Caffeine

Alpha Redemption is that rarest of combinations: both thoughtful and emotional.  Baines has crafted an intriguing and beautiful story of love, loss, and grace.  While simultaneously tackling the singularly sci-fi question, what is humanity, the author weaves questions of greater importance: what is the soul, and what is love.  Alpha Redemption is a brief but ambitious work, spanning an entire lifetime, and Baines has managed to work all these disparate parts into a wonderful, eminently readable, enjoyable piece. 
~ Randy Streu, Editor, Digital Dragon Magazine

Comments